Super Sader Shoutout

From academics to athletics and more, our students continue to excel in a wide array of activities and events. We are proud to recognize and share these outstanding accomplishments from the past several months in a Super Sader Shoutout.

Diego Nosack – Prep Boys Swimmer of the Year

The Oregon Sports Awards presented by Nike have nominated Diego Nosack for Prep Boys Swimmer of the Year. These awards recognize some of the most promising and talented athletes in Oregon – past winners have included Steve Prefontaine, Megan Rapinoe, and Marcus Mariota. Diego is ranked as the second-best swimmer in Oregon and qualified for the 2022 Futures and 2022 Summer Junior Nationals with All-American times in the 500 freestyle and 200 IM. He will be swimming at Northwestern next year.

Jesuit Men's Tennis – High School Tennis Tournament

In early April, Jesuit's men's tennis team competed at the Tualatin Hills Tennis Center for the Oregon High School Tennis tournament. After two years away from this competition due to COVID, Jesuit players came energized and ready to win. Jesuit scored 74 points, beating Lincoln, Sunset, and Central Catholic for the overall team title. Jesuit's men's tennis team looks forward to competing at State next week. Read more here.

Magda Skarbonkiewicz '24 – Cadet World Championship

Magda Skarbonkiewicz competed at the Cadet World Championships in Dubai as one of only five American girls. She qualified for both cadet (ages 17 and under) and junior (ages 20 and under). After an impressive athletic performance, she came in first for both cadet and junior. Magda joins only three other people in men and women's sabre history to have won both cadet and junior.

Maansi Singh '24 and Theodore Guo '24 – First Tech Challenge Competition

Maansi Singh and Theodore Guo attended the World Championship for the 2021-2022 First Tech Challenge competition in Houston, Texas after winning the State Championship in March. Their team was the Jemison Division Finalist Alliance Captain and the FTC World Championship Competition semi-finalists. Overall, Maansi and Theodore were the fourth highest-scoring team in the world for this year's competition.

Mirabel Streu '23 – Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

Mirabel Streu won a National Gold Medal in Photography for her piece titled, "Quarantine was Rough." She will attend an in-person awards ceremony at Carnegie Hall in New York City this June.

Oregon Stock Market Game

Two Jesuit teams placed first and second at the Oregon Stock Market Game. This competition encourages students to connect with the global economy through virtual investing and real-world learning. Congratulations to both teams:

First Place Team

  • Harrison McGuire '22
  • Michael Wall '22
  • Alex Amparo '22
  • Ethan McBride '22

Second Place Team

  • Dev Udata '22
  • Luke Waters '22
  • Simon Williamson '22
  • Dillon Mills '22
  • Brook Rundle '22

Roshen Nair '24 – 2022 High School State Chess Champion

In April, Roshen Nair took part in the invitation-only Oregon State Individual Chess Championship organized by Chess for Success for regional tournament winners. He played in the high school individual section for two days and a total of five rounds, all of which he won for a perfect score of 5.0 and his 11th Oregon State Championship title. View all of Roshen's amazing wins here.

Samyak Shrimali '23 – AT&T Inventor's Challenge

Samyak Shrimali was named a global winner at this year's AT&T Inventor's Challenge for his project "CompostAl," a deep learning-based mobile application aimed to increase community composting rates in order to combat climate change. Out of over 5,500 students participating globally, Samyak's project was selected as the top submission.

Sophia Gard-Rangel '22 – Beaverton Youth Art Award

Sophia Gard-Rangel won first place in Beaverton's Youth Art Awards Scholarship for her phenomenal portfolio and will receive a $2,500 scholarship for this accomplishment.

National Merit Finalists

Each year, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation reviews the grades, accomplishments, and abilities of over 1.5 million high school students. From that pool, a select few move through the semifinal and final rounds to receive scholarships. Congratulations to the 16 JHS seniors who have been named National Merit Scholarship Finalists:

  • Diya Balakrishnan
  • Angelina Cao
  • Anna Dong
  • Jenny Duan
  • Christopher Jeong
  • Mithra Karamchedu
  • Shreya Kaushik
  • Aidan LeBlanc
  • Arushi Mantri
  • Jackson Parker
  • Sophia Yixinyun
  • Carter Ptak
  • Ian Rasovsky
  • Rishabh Sharma
  • Rahul Shenoy
  • Ella Sohn