Jesuit art students receive over 130 awards at Oregon's Scholastic Art Awards

Above: Gold Key Portfolio Piece in Printmaking, "Its San Fran, Man" by Abigail Rawlinson '21.

An impressive 51 students from Jesuit High School were recently recognized for their outstanding artistic achievements in the Oregon Region for the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards.

This year, 134 individual pieces of art by Jesuit students were awarded a Gold Key, Silver Key, or Honorable Mention in a variety of media categories, including photography, drawing and illustration, printmaking, painting, editorial cartoon, mixed media and more.

"I am very proud of the level of participation and the recognition for Jesuit in Visual Art this year," said art teacher Sascha Manning. "These young artists certainly deserve it! These wins are a way to celebrate the courage and creativity of the artists, their work, and the value of the fine arts at Jesuit."

Five Jesuit students - Abigail Rawlinson '21, Mirabel Streu '23, Nathan Hasbrook '21, Stella Bonta '24 and Sydney Averill '21- received Gold Key awards in the regional category and will be automatically considered in the national-level competition. National medalists will be announced March 17.

Additionally, six students submitted portfolios for the competition. Portfolios are a collection of work comprised of eight pieces that show consistency in superior mastery of materials, innovation and presentation. Senior Abigail Rawlinson received a Gold Key for her portfolio which will also be considered at the national level.

Students had to refine their art skills at home with the virtual guidance of teachers and collaboration of classmates. Despite these challenges, the student artists found creative ways to persevere.

"I bought supplies online, carved the linoleum prints at our kitchen table, and printed the pieces in a corner of our garage on an old backyard table," said Abigail Rawlinson. "Despite the make-shift studio arrangements, I was fortunate to receive accolades for my work and I am extremely grateful for the support from Ms. Manning and Jesuit."

Click here for a digital gallery of the winning artwork.

Click here to watch the Scholastic Art Awards Ceremony live on Friday March 26 at 4:30 pm.

Congratulations to all our winners:

Portfolio Awards
Abigail Rawlinson – Gold Key
Ziggy Berkoff – Silver Key
Steele Clevenger – Silver Key x2
Miyako Barnett – Honorable Mention
Tori Nguyen – Honorable Mention
Tanner Olson – Honorable Mention

Gold Key Winners
Sydney Averill - Drawing/Illustration
Sydney Averill - Digital Art
Nathan Hasbrook - Herb Block Foundation Editorial Cartoon
Stella Bonta – Digital Art
Abigail Rawlinson – Printmaking x3
Mirabel Streu – Photography x6

Silver Key Winners
Tanner Olson - Drawing/Illustration x4
Sophia Gard-Rangel – Drawing/Illustration x2
Sophia Gard-Rangel - Printmaking
Ziggy Berkoff - Drawing/Illustration x2
Ziggy Berkoff - Painting
Miyako Barnett – Painting
Miyako Barnett - Drawing/Illustration
Olivia 'Marin' Biniak - Drawing/Illustration
Olivia 'Marin' Biniak - Painting
Emily Clauson - Drawing/Illustration x2
Elliana Kluherz – Mixed Media
Elliana Kluherz - Drawing/Illustration
Will Morich – Painting
Will Morich - Mixed Media
Stella Anastasakis - Drawing/Illustration x2
Sofia Acevedo – Drawing/Illustration
Stuart Ames – Drawing/Illustration
Matteo Campbell - Drawing/Illustration
Kira Shertz - Drawing/Illustration
Melina Olander - Drawing/Illustration
Sydney Averill – Painting
Mirabel Streu – Photography x7
Samyak Shrimali - Drawing/Illustration x4
Steele Clevenger – Fashion;
Steele Clevenger - Editorial Cartoon;
Steele Clevenger- Comic Art
Ella Jewell - Drawing/Illustration x2
Magda Skarbonkiewicz – Painting x2
Willow Knight - Drawing/Illustration
Jamie Turner – Painting
Sophia Lilah Pettini - Drawing/Illustration
Stella Bonta - Drawing/Illustration
Ellie Flynn – Painting
Addison 'Reese' Griffith - Drawing/Illustration
Vicenzo Vargo - Drawing/Illustration
Charlotte Malocco - Drawing/Illustration
Adele Jawed – Editorial Cartoon
Sophia Pi – Digital Art

Honorable Mentions
Steele Clevenger x8
Tori Nguyen x4
Nico Garcia x3
Ziggy Berkoff x3
Adele Jawed x3
Mirabel Streu x3
Siobhan Sullivan x3
Aggie Alfred x2
Rory Breemer x2
Luke Malnati x2
Miyako Barnett x2
Claire Cooney
Astrid Foster
Sophia Gard-Rangel
Hanna Noguchi
Cayte Worthington
Linnea Anderson
Ella Jewell
Willow Knight
Griffin Mentzer
Addison 'Reese' Griffith
Tanner Olson
Nathan Peters
Abril Miranda Parra
Sherlynne Dominguez
Emma America
Emma Williams
Abigail Rawlinson
Maddy Cooper
Samyak Shrimali
Sophia Pi
Isabelle Macielinski